World of Hyatt Category Changes for 2019

World of Hyatt has published its annual award chart updates that will take effect on March 18, meaning the number of points required for a free night at some hotels is changing. No new Categories have been added, and the points required for each Category will remain the same. There’s a total of 259 properties that are changing categories, and it is pretty balanced. 130 hotels are moving up a category or more, and 129 are moving down.

World of Hyatt Category Changes for 2019

Whether the changes are good or bad news, will mainly vary on the properties you visit most. There’s some good news for those visiting NYC for example. Andaz Wall Street, Grand Hyatt New York and Hyatt Herald Square are all going from Category 6 to 5, which means 20K points instead of 25K. Hyatt House and Hyatt Regency in Jersey City are also going down from category 5 to 4 and they’re both a very short train ride from Manhattan. You can also use your free night certificate for those two properties in Jersey City.

As for hotels moving up there’s the Hyatt Regency Bali that’s going from Category 1 to 2. Andaz Costa Rica Resort at Peninsula Papagayo and Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui are going from 4 to 5, making them no longer possible to book free night certificates.

You can see all the changes here.

All stays booked before 11:01 p.m. CT, March 18, 2019, will follow the current Award Chart. For example, if you book an award night prior to 11:01 p.m. CT, March 18, 2019, for a stay that occurs on March 18th or after, the current Award Chart will apply. Any redemptions booked at 11:01 p.m. CT, March 18, 2019, or after will follow the new Award Chart.

Guru’s Wrap-up

There’s good and bad news but it will surely vary for everyone. Let me know if these category changes make your favorite properties more affordable, more expensive or if it doesn’t affect you at all.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.