You Can Now Earn Delta Lifetime Diamond Medallion Status with 6 Million Miles

Earn Delta Lifetime Diamond Medallion Status with 6 Million Miles

Delta Air Lines has four tiers of elite status in its loyalty program. You start at Silver and then you can work your way up with Gold, Platinum and finally Diamond. Status can be earned by flying, or through Delta credit cards. But Delta Frequent flyers can also earn lifetime Million Miler Status based on total Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) earned over a member’s lifetime. That means that you would get those elite tier benefits permanently.

Until now you would get Lifetime Silver Medallion status for reaching 1 million miles, Lifetime Gold Medallion status with million miles, and go up to lifetime Platinum status when you reach 4 million miles. But Delta has added the ability to earn Lifetime Diamond Medallion status as well. However, you will need a total of 6 million miles to become Lifetime Diamond Medallion. If you’ve previously earned this level, your account has been updated automatically with no action needed from you.

Delta Million Miler Status

As a Million Miler, you can enjoy annual complimentary Medallion Status, plus a special gift box and an electronic Delta Gift Card each time you hit a million miles. Your gift will be mailed and emailed to the addresses listed in your SkyMiles account.

Here are all the Million Miler status tiers:

  • Silver Medallion – 1 Million Miles
  • Gold Medallion – 2 Million Miles
  • Platinum Medallion – 4 Million Miles
  • Diamond Medallion – 6 Million Miles

Delta also has a Delta 360° invitation-only program for top SkyMiles Members, offering an exclusive suite of benefits and services even beyond Diamond Medallion Status. An invitation into Delta 360° is based on your overall investment with Delta. If you’re selected to join, Delta will contact you directly.

Earning Lifetime Diamond Medallion Status

To earn Lifetime Diamond Medallion status you need to fly a total of 6 million miles. That’s not something that you can do quickly. You would have to fly 240 times around the globe to reach that number. Diamond Medallion status normally requires 125,000 MQMs per year. So if you are flying just the bare minimum every year, in order to maintain Diamond Medallion status, it would take you about 48 years to become Lifetime Diamond. But it can be done. Tom Stuker has 23 million miles under his belt for example.

Diamond offers exclusive benefits such as the highest Complimentary Upgrade priority and Premium Boarding. You can also enjoy benefits like a complimentary CLEAR membership to ease through airport security, customizable Choice Benefits with Delta Sky Club access, Rollover MQMs and more. Million Miler Medallion Status is for the earning Medallion Member only and cannot be gifted or transferred to another Member. You can see full details about Diamond Medallion Status here.

Guru’s Wrap-up

Frequent Flyers no longer chase status as much as they used to. But if you travel often then you should take advantage of the extra perks and benefits that elite status provides. However, Million Miler Status is already quite hard to achieve unless you’re constantly flying. Then getting to six million miles is much more difficult.

Let me know if you have already achieved Million Miler Status, or if you think you can get to Lifetime Diamond Medallion any time soon.

HT: One Mile at a Time

Danny Deal Guru Facebook Group

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.