Cash Out Gift Cards With Small Balances In 14 States

Cash Out Gift Cards With Small Balances In 13 States

You’ve probably seen those signs at many merchants that say that gift cards are non-refundable and non-returnable. That’s not always the case though. In some states, when you have a few bucks left on your gift card, you’re allowed to just cash out the remaining balance.

In California you can cash out a gift card if the balance is less than $10. In Colorado you can cash out gift cards that have $5 or less. In Massachusetts you only get 10% of face value. In New York, you’re stuck with whatever balance you have.

List of States

Here’s the full list of 13 states that allow you to cash out your gift cards and the balance requirement. If you’re within the threshold, the merchant is required by state law to redeem the gift card for cash upon request.

State Min. balance required
California $10.00
Colorado $5.00
Connecticut $3.00
Maine $5.00
Massachusetts $5 or 10%
Montana $5.00
New Jersey $5.00
New York $5.00
Oregon $5.00
Puerto Rico $5.00
Rhode Island $1.00
Texas $2.50
Vermont $1.00
Washington $5.00

Some stores might let you return gift cards. Target for example will allow you to return Target Visa cards with an original receipt. However, you can’t return third party gift cards.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.